Independent Music Monday: Ed Black

15493289_1509629152387590_1180919429077663987_o

Every Monday we will be bringing you an unsigned singer or band as part of our Independent Music Monday feature. This week, we caught up with Ed Black find out more about him…

Where are you from and how did you first get into music?
I am from Chester. I was encouraged by parents to learn an instrument from a young age, and thought guitar was pretty cool, so went with that at the age of 7 and now here I am 17 years later!

Who were your musical influences when you were growing up and who are your influences now?
Growing up I loved all the indie bands that were about at the time – The Wombats, Maximo Park, The Pigeon Detectives, etc. Nowadays I am influenced by a wide range of genres but a couple of big artists for me are Bombay Bicycle Club and Bon Iver.

promo-photo-1

How would you describe your sound?
Heartfelt, genuine pop songs with a real story to them.

What’s your local music scene like?
In Chester there isn’t a huge scene for live music but Wrexham is nearby and I used to gig regularly at Wrexham Central Station, who would often get upcoming touring acts in before they became huge.

What do you have planned for the next 12 months? Any albums or festivals?
I plan to release another EP this year and hopefully get some shows off the back of that.

promo-photo-2

Is there anyone you’d love to collaborate with?
I’d love to collaborate with Jack Steadman from Bombay Bicycle Club.

Any funny stories surrounding your live performances?
I have tried to rack my brain but can’t actually think of any funny stories from live shows unfortunately!! All been pretty tame.

What is the one thing that you want readers to know about you?
All of my songs are from the heart.

You can find out more about Ed via Facebook, SoundCloud and Twitter.

 

One thought on “Independent Music Monday: Ed Black

Leave a Reply

