Independent Music Monday: Betsa

Every Monday we will be bringing you an unsigned singer or band as part of our Independent Music Monday feature. This week, we caught up with Betsa find out more about her…

Where are you from and how did you first get into music?
London, England. Both my mum and grandma were professional singers, I grew up watching them perform. My first official ‘live solo performance’ was when I was 14. It was Christmas time and my mum had a gig. She had a throat infection and asked my grandma and I to help out. We all sang together and I sang ‘Merry Christmas Darling’. From that point I became hooked.

Who were your musical influences when you were growing up and who are your influences now?
My musical influences range from Phil Collins, Jason Mraz, Colbie Caillat and Taylor Swift.

How would you describe your sound?
I would describe my sound as Dirty Pop, I love working in the studio, layering different melodies and sounds over each other.

What’s your local music scene like?
The local music scene is incredible, I started with open mic nights and met musicians who then began booking me for professional paid work. Without those amazing people who run the local open mic nights, I would never be where I am now.

What do you have planned for the next 12 months? Any albums or festivals?
I have split the next 12 months into two. I will use these next 6 months to gig in and around London, meeting new musicians and working with new people. I will also continue writing songs and creating simple demos to send off to publishers. The further 6 months will be spent at ACM in Guildford, so I will be focusing on my degree and furthering my skill as a songwriter and artist.

Is there anyone you’d love to collaborate with?
I would absolutely love to work with Jason Mraz. I think our writing styles are quite free, yet work to creating a catchy song, that keeps it’s emotion.

Any funny stories surrounding your live performances?
I have had a bar fight going on right next to me, so close that the mic was pushed into my face. I have also been playing my guitar, standing up at an important gig, and the strap has broken, leaving me trying to balance the guitar on my knee. I ended up stopping the guitar and continuing the song acapella, meanwhile about five different people were trying to reattach the strap behind me.

What is the one thing that you want readers to know about you?
I would love the readers to know new music is coming! Keep checking my Spotify.

You can find out more about Betsa at her website or via Facebook, Instagram, Spotify, Twitter and YouTube.

 

Leave a Reply

