Independent Music Monday: Jack Woodward

Every Monday we will be bringing you an unsigned singer or band as part of our Independent Music Monday feature. This week, we caught up with Jack Woodward find out more about him…

Where are you from and how did you first get into music?
I am from Warrington and I currently live near Manchester. I first got into music by performing as Buddy Holly in my Primary School production of the same name, then musical theatre throughout High School as Oliver in Oliver, then Anthony in Sweeney Todd.

Who were your musical influences when you were growing up and who are your influences now?
My music influences growing up were Bruce Springsteen (as my dad is a die-hard fan) and The Killers (my whole family loves them). I got into more varied and slightly more indie music while at university in Leeds and finding new music at Festivals like Live at Leeds including bands such as Catfish and the Bottlemen, George Ezra, Hozier, Rae Morris have all had influence on my writing in the last couple of years.

How would you describe your sound?
I would describe my new sound as Indie and anthemic and singer-songwriter.

What’s your local music scene like?
My local music scene is mainly in Manchester’s Northern Quarter which has some amazing open mic nights and acoustic nights, band nights and big shows most nights of the week. I test out my new songs at open mics all the time and play bigger gigs (sometimes with a backing band) every few months.

What do you have planned for the next 12 months? Any albums or festivals?
I just released my new single ‘Let it Happen’ which is a new direction and sound for me (moving away from pop) towards indie inspired music. I am releasing my second EP later this year, before that I will be releasing a few singles and playing at Live at Leeds festival in April!

Is there anyone you’d love to collaborate with?
I would love to collab with Bruce Springsteen or Brandon Flowers (The Killers) one day as they are legends in songwriting.

Any funny stories surrounding your live performances?
I once shared sandwiches backstage with Rae Morris before opening for her at a Sold Out King Tuts show in Glasgow. Also, I interviewed George Ezra for my university magazine before he was famous, may have been my article that tipped him towards fame?

What is the one thing that you want readers to know about you?
I really want to share my music with as many people as possible and give my gift of songwriting and performing. I love getting better every day at both and really affecting people emotionally and energetically with my music. I would urge them to check out my music and see if they find something they really love. Give it a try.

You can find out more about Jack at his website or via Facebook, Instagram, SoundCloud, Twitter and YouTube.

Leave a Reply

